Coupland etc.

I decided to clear my head a bit. And re-read some Douglas Coupland.

Now think over this one. Really think over it.

After you’re dead and buried and floating around whatever place we go to, what’s going to be your best memory of earth? What one moment for you defines what it’s like to be alive on this planet. What’s your takeaway? Fake yuppie experiences that you had to spend money on, like white water rafting or elephant rides in Thailand don’t count. I want to hear some small moment from your life that proves you’re really alive.

And then this passage that gave me the kind of goosebumps money can’t buy. So. Who is yours?:-)

Everybody has a ‘gripping stranger’ in their lives, Andy, a stranger who unwittingly possesses a bizarre hold over you. Maybe it’s the kid in cut-offs who mows your lawn or the woman wearing White Shoulders who stamps your book at the library—a stranger who, if you were to come home and find a message from them on your answering machine saying ‘Drop everything. I love you. Come away with me now to Florida,’ you’d follow them.

No, not going away to Florida anytime soon. Too pregnant with posts, too head-first in life for that.

Back with more than quotes soon.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Coupland etc.

  1. hmmm..Coupland: you have got me thinking.
    thanks for sharing-this is thought provoking.
    i am now off in search of my ‘gripping stranger’

  2. I think the stranger in my life was the dude I married! No regrets, either, most of the time.
    I think we’re both past the occasional but intense murderous thoughts:)

  3. I know this will sound strange but there is this small kid, he is actually a baby, maybe 6 to 8 months old. sleeps at the landing in front of our building lobby..his mom is the one who cleans the building, so this child sleeps, plays and lies all alone by himself throughout the day.Sometime i see the watchman sititng wih this child.i dont know what power this baby has, but i always stop and give him an extra long look..honestly i am too chicken to sit longer cus i get misty eyed, thinking of the comfort my 2 month old has and what this child has !!

  4. Chooch

    Does the gripper have to be a “stranger”??I just know this one person who had a hold over me like no other and recently discovered that the feeling was mutual…after years of believing that it was unrequited” louwe”and getting over him…now,we’re both very happily married to others..My discovery,20 years after we parted, that he actually felt the same way and spent many, many years thinking about me, gave me a new joie de vivre-I think i’ve been glowing and smiling happily for the past 1 year!Believe me, it’s given me a huge boost as well as reaffirmed my belief that everything happens for a reason.

  5. Meera

    Know exactly who that “gripping” stranger was…. he was a friend but a stranger in so many ways. Would have loved to get to know him better. And yes, if he’d called (oh-so-many years ago, when I didn’t know DH and didn’t have DD), would have followed him to the ends of the earth. Alas, it’s never to be. He’s been dead 10 years :(

  6. Anonymous

    On quote #1 – a reading of mr.gray leads one to think that no moment big or small makes any difference to any one

    The boast of heraldry, the pomp of power,
    And all that beauty, all that wealth e’er gave,
    Awaits alike th’ inevitable hour:-
    The paths of glory lead but to the grave.

    source: http://bit.ly/KpKfa

  7. Anjali

    Thanks for Douglas Coupland! It’s always good to find engaging writers. I’ll search for more of him.

    A gripping stranger – I don’t think anyone was that gripping in my life. But other literary characters that Coupland’s writing reminded me of – Rabindranath Tagore’s Upagupta and Herman Hesse’s ferryman.

  8. Sue

    Argh. I followed my stranger. No regrets I did it but no way I’d do that again!

Leave a Reply

