Waking

I will never get this on film, so I have to try in words.

That moment, that thing you do when you stir in your sleep,

When the dream and consciousness both fight to possess you

And you turn into my warmth.

The feathery touch of your tiny fingers reading the map of my face,

the braille of poxmarks, brows, lips and nostrils

the slow motion of lips curling and settling into a smile of peaceful recognition.

The casually languid stretch, the purrs.

All feline, all mine, this cherub child.

19 Comments

Filed under Armaan

19 responses to “Waking

  1. Awwwww…you have a way with words!

  2. You captured it, dear!

  3. Awww.. i melted.

    I know that feeling, i do. But i could never put it down in words like you did!!!

  4. Anjali

    What a lovely expression of how a baby instinctively finds its mother!

  5. i just had this moment with my son this morning- but i will not be able to put it down in words so beautifully like you have…

    nice!

  6. ys

    What you have written amounts to lovely poetry to me, dear GoneMad mother :)!

  7. got here from MiM’s blog. Beautifully written 🙂 Now off to check the archives 🙂

  8. Wow, you said it and how!
    I am a total fan of your writing, maybe I’ll join your mother – out with that book!

  9. omg…i just wrote the exact same thing!

  10. Inshah allah !!

    Dont let the spark die

  11. Ah, thanks, now I’m crying. At work. You sure can write!

Leave a Reply

