The Hula Girl

Just coming up for air to let you now that this is what I am up to most of the time.

I have been Powerhooped.

I gyrate a lot. I gyrate like an item number on acid. I can do this without losing the hoop for about 5 minutes at a stretch ONE WAY. (You have to hula in both directions for optimal effect). The veterans can hoop through an entire episode of Desperate Housewives.

I have welts and bruises all around my waist, and I hurt in ways I did not know was possible.  This is all good because I know now that under all the blubber my abs were still holding out for me. THEY STILL WANT ME, PEEPULS. It was never over, that brief love affair.

I love it and I am already dreaming of a notion of a waistline again – setting the bar low, see?

As if I wasn’t addicted enough, I set it to music. This track. What was I thinking?

Now between the hooping and the Zumba (ZUMBAAAAAA!), the Viking will have to sedate me soon.

Or he could just take advantage of me in disgraceful ways and completely rumple my honour.

image courtesy: www.divadistribution.co.uk

11 Comments

Filed under Exercise

11 responses to “The Hula Girl

  1. Why, I have a feeling that given THOSE two options, it’ll take the Viking half a heartbeat to make a choice! 😀

    Btw, I somehow never considered hooping as a fitness thing.. more like a fun thing. Because the one time I tried it, my niece had good fun giggling looking at me. Zumba’s pretty awesome though! 🙂

    • Mom Gone Mad

      Right you be ADCCL:-)

      These aren’t regular hoops. They are heavy (1.7 kg) and padded and woah. does it ever beat you up?:-)

      Zumbaaa is fabulous innit?

  2. ohh i tried hula hooping long time back and I dont seem to get the swing of it.. what could I be doing wrong?

  3. Waistline? Wassat?
    You keep at it, my girl- I’ll live vicariously:)

  4. Chooch

    oooh,sounds like a “fun”way to get back that elusive waistline of mine back…need to find it before my reunion in Aug!
    Oh and you look hot enoough,why do you want a waistline also?Greedy,some people are…

  5. Chooch

    oooh,sounds like a “fun”way to get back that elusive waistline of mine…need to find it before my reunion in Aug!
    Oh and you look hot enoough,why do you want a waistline also?Greedy,some people are…

  6. Mom Gone Mad

    Chooch: Go for it! Its fun. and LOL-ing at your last line. Don’t you know about wanting what you don’t have?

  7. Hula? Oh you and The Mad One are two peas in a pod!

  8. Mom Gone Mad

    What? MM powerhoops? Oy! Now that explains the luscious waistline:-)

    You should try this out Deej. I’m upto 10 minutes either way.. in great pain somedays, but boy, you see results!

Leave a Reply

